NOT the Comic Book Code for Nanowrimo?

nanowrimo-300x184I have been working on my novel, The Comic Book Code, for years. Years learning what description and internal monologue and three act story structure were. Then learning what close third person point of view was. Then writing short stories to tighten my writing style. Then trimming the bloated 80 chapter outline to under 40. I want that first draft off my back!

For the past several years, every November (my favorite month of the year: Nanowrimo, write a novel in a month) I’d work on the Comic Book Code. Next month I want to Nanowrimo another book: the sequel to The Comic Book Code, working title Like Teeth In The Night. Super Holly Hansson visits her relatives in her home town: Cowpatch, a dairy/farming town much like where I grew up. (Yeah, a shout-out to Lil Abner.) And she faces vampires, werewolves, a Frankenstein monster inspired by the movie Bride of Frankenstein. And her boyfriend Cal “The Intellectual” Critbert faces the right moment to pop the question. And the main villains from The Comic Book Code regain their powers, and decide on their paths. And Holly finds it is not so easy to go home again.

So will I nano Like Teeth In The Night? Or my children’s book, which would be three stories: my Kittygirl and Puppy Brothers stories, and the super kids team-up to help Super Holly (c’mon, kids love when kids save the adults), there is plenty of writing to do for that super kids story.

Or maybe I’ll rewrite rough chapter from The Comic Book Code. You know, that novel I’ve been working on…

Leave a Reply

