Voice acting advice from Billy West!

Billy-West-and-Dave-M-StromAt Sacramento Con, at the autograph area, I met Billy West of Futurama fame (Philip J. Fry, Professor Farnsworth, Dr. Zoidberg, Zapp Brannigan). I told him I am doing character voices for my story readings, and I asked for advice.

Go big, he said, I will not impress anyone with small. Put PASSION into your characters, make them live, they should feel REAL. And get the rhythm of a voice: Billy did Yogi Bear’s voice to make his point. (I suggest you look Yogi up on YouTube and listen to how he stretches syllables and bounces up at the end of a sentence.)

Billy talked to someone else about combining two actor voices to make another voice. I should try that sometime. Hope I don’t break something.

P.S. I’m not much for autographs, so I paid Billy for a photo with him. Autograph tables are part of the capitalist system.

Leave a Reply

