The Intellecta-camera!

product-test-4I love gadgets like my iPad and Android phone. So when I write my superhero and superheroine stories, I sometimes write fictional technology. I have Cal “The Intellectual” Critbert’s Intellecta-phone, Super Holly Hansson’s e-bracelet, 5D glasses that thrust the audience into a character in the movie, and the artificially intelligent, telepathy driven Intellecta-car (no steering wheel, no gas or brake pedals, and Holly has a crush on it).

SEARCHLIGHT_MKTG_BACK_UI_COMPRESSED_001_1But sometimes the real world catches up, especially in Silicon Valley. I was hunting for my next technical writing gig when I came across a superpowered camera: Light’s L16. 52 megapixel resolution, 5x optical zoom without the lens zooming out of the camera (folded optics!), 15x more light-gathering for low light super-duper-performance, wifi photo sharing, 16 lenses and sensors, 256GB of storage, and a size like a thick cell phone. Wow.

Oh, and you can focus after you take the photo. Yes, AFTER! The camera records not only the scene, but the distances in the scene. It’s like recording a little block of reality in your phone! Remember that Futurama episode where Captain Zapp Brannigan showed a digital space photo? He zoomed way way way in on a tiny spaceship in the photo, and got blocky pixelation. I bet the L16 could fix that problem.

The L16 is not cheap. But I bet professional photographers are drooling. I’d bet that some of that tech will trickle down to smart phones. And Holly’s e-bracelet.

P.S. The L16 uses Android for its operating system. An OS that I like and have worked with. Maybe I should create a superpowered OS in my stories that goes EEEEEEEVIL!!! Or good. Whatever gets the best laugh and/or pathos.

P.P.S. The Light website might need to say the L16 is 16 cameras in one, not just 10. I will ask that if Light calls me in for an in-person interview. That would be sweet.

Leave a Reply

