Who are my fanboys?

beth-barany-30-Day-Writing-Challenge-to-PLAN-WRITE-YOUR-NOVELI am taking Beth Barany’s Branding For Novelists class, which helps writers nail down exactly what their brand is. Such as who is my audience, what is my author bio, calls to action that I can do to help my marketing, and so on. And part of her lesson to make a branding statement says that if I say my audience is everyone, I need to think again.

I started writing my superheroine Super Holly for me, and anyone who wanted to read her. But I needed to narrow it down, else how will I know who I am really writing for? Did J.K. Rowling write for everyone? No, for little British boys and girls who felt oppressed by the snooty upper class! Did Stan Lee? No, for comic book geeks who wanted to read superheroes who talk, act, and have problems like real people (not those boring interchangeable clones that DC Comics was doing in the 60s)! So here is the audience I think I’m aiming at:

Females, kids, gays, and anyone else who is not a superhero fanboy, but would like to be.

How’s that? I think this is really who I am thinking of. Sure, I love fanboys, I am a fanboy! But us mostly white older male geeks are gonna die out in the next two or three decades, comic books and superheroes need new blood!

I wrote Holly because I love when the woman steps up and punches out the bad guy. Some superhero stories should be written for that half of the planet’s population. Boy, would I love for Super Holly to give Darkseid a BIG FAT BELT right in his genocidal kisser! And if that does not work, a super-telekinetically-enhanced kick in the you-know-where. And he’d better not use his Omega Beams on her if he knows what’s good for him, because they would fry Holly’s beloved blonde hair, and Holly would get steam-rocket-out-her-beaky-nose, GRRRRRROWLing Belker-The-Biter (Hill Street Blues) MAD!!!

beth-baranyThank you, Beth. You are making me think.

Leave a Reply

