I am being HONOR(able mention)ED! And published again.

I will be published again. YAY! I got an email from Beth Barany, writing coach and fantasy writer of Henrietta, a kick-ass heroine. (I think Henrietta would get along with Holly.)
.
“Congratulations, you’re a Winner in the Genre Novel First Chapter contest!  In fact, you’re a Carry The Light winner, for your entry, Fanboys Shrugged. It was a close contest!”
.
Carry The Light is an anthology from SF peninsula writers. You can link to previous versions here (but I am not in those). I got an honorable mention for the first chapter in my novel. Chapter Zero, Holly Hansson’s Superpowered Origin Story. I think nearly everyone who enters gets into Carry The Light, but I also think that not everyone gets a prize. I took my prize: a couple of Beth’s ebooks for authors. I am reading The Writer’s Adventure. It’s good.
.
I will post a link when the 2015 edition with MY TOTALLY AWESOME NOVEL CHAPTER is published. If you are going to the San Mateo County Fair, you can likely buy a hardcopy at the fine arts stage. Also, it will likely be sold through Amazon. I’ll buy both. First time I will be in a printed book, if you don’t count technical manuals or my old Strom’s Index column.
.
I will be editing my novel chapter on the advice of the pro editor. She wanted more description of the comic book shop. It is another chance to geek up my writing! The pro editor liked Kittygirl and her mom in this chapter, by the way, so I intend to send her a copy of my Kittygirl short story after my final polish. I think she’d like it.
.
I also changed the name of my novel from The Comic Book Code to Fanboys Shrugged. I’d rather satirize Atlas Shrugged than The DaVinci Code in my title. But I will likely have a chapter named The Comic Book Code. And I have set a goal: finish the entire first draft by my birthday in October as a present to myself. I will be the big SIX-O.
One thought on “I am being HONOR(able mention)ED! And published again.

  1. Pingback: I’m honorably published in a paperback! | Dave M. Strom: author of Holly Hansson, superheroine & writer

Leave a Reply

