Empowered: The Symbolism, Feminism, & Superheroism of Wonder Woman

WWI first met Valerie Frankel (check out her author page) through the South Bay Writers Club. Or maybe at BayCon. Anyhow, she has churned out many books, from spoofs of Harry Potter to scholarly studies such as From Girl to Goddess, a study of the heroine’s journey done by literary heroines. Since I am writing a superheroine, I bought it. A good read, well researched. But I wanted something else. Something more SUPER!
*
Valerie goes super in her new book, Empowered: The Symbolism, Feminism, & Superheroism of Wonder Woman. She gave me a beta copy. I sent back a few comments. Now you can read it too.
*
I did not realize that Valerie had comic book geek girl cred. She does not shy away from how Wonder Woman’s costume often gets skimpier, and what parts of Wonder Woman often get thrust toward the camera. She discusses in depth Wonder Woman being reinvented over the decades, like WW’s feminist start, and WW staying behind to type up the meeting notes and wishing the Justice League boys good luck as they run out to fight, and that long stretch where WW was depowered and wore totally mod bell bottoms, and Josh Whedon’s lost WW movie, right up to the latest animated Justice League movies, you know, where WW has a sword and is not afraid to use it a lot.
*
Do you want to learn about Wonder Woman? Do you want to laugh with lines like, “an extended fight scene that lets Wonder Woman twirl upside down and stretch into unlikely poses to show off all her skin. This is the entire plot.”
*
P.S. My beta comments? I agreed with SO MUCH, but I thought Valerie was a little tough on the Justice League animated series Flash, the team cut-up. Also, I did not find the violence in that series “off-putting.” But The New 52? Yeah, I too was off-putted, so much grittiness I had to floss my teeth!
2 thoughts on “Empowered: The Symbolism, Feminism, & Superheroism of Wonder Woman

  1. Pingback: I am schooled by Trina Robbins! | Dave M. Strom: author of Holly Hansson, superheroine & writer

  2. Pingback: I’ll be on Superheroine panel at Silicon Valley Comic Con | Dave M. Strom: author of Holly Hansson, superheroine & writer

Leave a Reply

