Little girls need superheroines!

Last week at the comic book shop, a tall handsome young man has his cute little daughter in tow. A polite, quiet girl with intelligent eyes. Her hater said she had gotten good grades, and was getting some comic books as a reward.

But it was not easy. He had thought about some Wonder Woman comics, but the ones on the shelves were not really for little girls. Yes, he did the peoper thing and screened the comics for his little girl. There were some My Little Pony comics on some shelves near the front (it seems she asked about those). Along with several other more kid-friendly comics. But the vast majority of the comics in the shop were aimed at old farts like me!

Ms._Marvel_Vol_3_2_Molina_Variant_TextlessI should have pointed out another comic book from Marvel: Ms. Marvel. Kamala Khan is a teenage girl who gets superpowers and tries to deal with them while hiding them from her jovial father and strict mother. It is one of my fave comics: funny and very down-to-Earth. Also written by a woman. That helps.

We need more supers for kids; someday, old guys like me will kick the bucket and we will need younger comic buyers. I’ll do my part. My superheroine Holly might help, but Holly is all grown up at about 25. (No, Hollywood, I will NOT turn Holly into a teenager, so if you ever discover Holly, don’t ask!) I have another character, Kitty Girl, who is an adorable little girl with cat powers, and is the leader of Holly’s fan club. But my stories are not comics, they are just text. For now.

P.S. The man and the girl were African-American. I know of no African-American little girls in comics, maybe some grown-up ones in grown-up comics that her daddy would likely screen out, and he’d probably be right. My Kitty Girl is no particular color for now, although a couple lady writers suggested asian. I hear the latest Annie in the movies will be black, but she won’t have superpowers! I want little girls to have superheroines!

One thought on “Little girls need superheroines!

  1. Pingback: Squirrel Girl Totally RULEZ! | Dave M. Strom: author of Holly Hansson, superheroine & writer

Leave a Reply

