Showing Package Contents in Mavericks

pacifistI have an older blog about messing around with my mobile tech and my Macintosh. One post was about retrieving text from a broken Pages file. I had to open the file from the Action menu in the Finder and select Show Package Contents. That was a year ago. Today, I tried opening one of my Storyist files that way. Guess what. Show Package Contents is not on the menu in Mac OS 10.9 (Mavericks) except for applications.

That’s not good enough. I want to crack open any file I want. I googled. First, I found how to show hidden files by running this from the command line for those of you feeling a little daring. (I did not do this, I already see my hidden files, so I must have run this type of command ages ago.)

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles TRUE && killall Finder

Anyway. I wanted my Show Package Contents back, and I found an app that does it: Pacifist from charlessoft. Works fine, but it does a countdown each time it opens until you pay $20. Fair enough, I like supporting the indie spirit.

Leave a Reply

